Return to SubjectsPlus home

Database List

Access, use, and reproduction of the electronic resources made available through the Grinnell College Libraries are governed by license agreements with publishers which may impose greater restrictions on use than does copyright law. The user is responsible for observing these agreements as well as the copyright laws of the United States (Title 17, United States Code), including the fair use guidelines that protect scholarship and research.

Looking for the best databases to use for your subject?
Check out our subject guides for suggestions.

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | V | W | Y | Z | [all]
Search for keyword    

A

Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  ABI Inform Off-Campus Access
1971-present. Indexing and abstracts of U.S. and international journal articles on business and management. 2002 sources indexed. Some full text. Available off-campus via proxy server.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Abstracts in Anthropology (Online) Off-Campus Access
2001-. Provides indexing and abstracts of books, articles, and conference papers from several hundred journals, covering cultural anthropology, physical anthropology, archaeology, and linguistics.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Abstracts of Folklore Studies
1963-1975. Abstracts of articles from journals in folklore. Published for the American Folklore Society by the University of Texas Press
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Academic Search Premier Off-Campus Access
Dates vary. An extensive multidisciplinary database providing full text for thousands of publications, including thousands of peer-reviewed journals.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Acceda Noticias (English interface) Off-Campus Access
Mostly 2000-present online resource that provides full-text information from over 40 Spanish-language newspapers and news services based mostly in the United States, Mexico, and some countries in Central and South America.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Acceda Noticias (Spanish interface) Off-Campus Access
2000-present online resource that provides full-text information from over 50 Spanish-language newspapers and news services based mostly in the United States, Mexico, and some countries in Central and South America.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Access World News Off-Campus Access
Mostly 1990's-present online resource that provides full-text information from over 1,000 United States and international newspapers and news services.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  AccessScience Off-Campus Access
The online version of the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology and Yearbooks and the McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific & Technical Terms, and more.
Unrestricted Resource  ACM Guide to Computing Literature
Index to key journals, conference proceedings, books, and more in Computer Science--published by the ACM.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  ACS Journals Search Off-Campus Access
The full text of articles from 30+ journals published by the American Chemical Society is available from the very first issues of the journals to the present.
Unrestricted Resource  Africa Bibliography

Unrestricted Resource  African Abstracts
1961-1972. A quarterly review of ethnological, social, and linguistic studies appearing in current periodicals.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  African American Music Reference Off-Campus Access
African American Music Reference when complete will include 50,000 pages of text reference, biographies, chronologies, sheet music, images, lyrics, liner notes, and discographies, which chronicle the diverse history and culture of the African American experience through music. Musical genres represented are blues, jazz, spirituals, civil rights songs, slave songs, minstrelsy, rhythm and blues, gospel, and other forms of black American musical expression.It can also be searched through Music Online: Reference
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  AGRICOLA Off-Campus Access
Provides citations to the wide range of agricultural literature.
Unrestricted Resource  All Music Guide

Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  AllAfrica
AllAfrica aggregates and indexes content from over 125 African news organizations, plus more than 200 other sources, who are responsible for their own reporting and views.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Alternative Press Index Off-Campus Access
1991-present. An index of nearly 300 alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines. Available off-campus via proxy server.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Alternative Press Index Archive Off-Campus Access
1969-1990. An index of nearly 300 alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines. Available off-campus via proxy server.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  America's Historical Newspapers Off-Campus Access
The electronic editions of record for local, regional, and national U.S. newspapers compiled in a single database. Paid ads are excluded.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  America's Newspapers Off-Campus Access

Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  America: History and Life Off-Campus Access
Indexes 2,000 journals published worldwide covering the history of the United States and Canada. Coverage includes articles, book and media reviews, and abstracts of dissertations.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  American Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies Off-Campus Access
Produced by the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, provides information on East-Central Europe and the former Soviet Union. Coverage for ABSEES ranges from 1939-present.(Also available in print: Z2483 .A65)
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  American State Papers Off-Campus Access
1789-1838. Full-text database of U.S. Congressional materials.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  L' Annee Philologique Off-Campus Access
This is the primary resource for comprehensive access to the literature on all aspects of the classical period. Library subscribes to the print version as well as the online version. The print version allows you to easily browse the years work.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Annual Bibliography of British and Irish History
A bibliography covering the Roman period in Great Britain up the 20th century. In addition to online access, library also has in print: Reference Z2016 .A55 1981
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Anthropological Index Online
1957-. Indexes journal articles in physical anthropology, cultural anthropology, archaeology, and linguistics.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Anthropological Literature Off-Campus Access
1984-. Indexes journal articles and edited works in archaeology, anthropology and linguistics, with primary emphasis on: archaeology, anthropology (biological & physical, cultural, and social), and linguistics. Also covers sociology, history, ethnohistory, demography, geography, international development, and human genetics.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Anthrosource Off-Campus Access
1888-. Full-text online resource serving the research, teaching, and professional needs of anthropologists. Developed by the American Anthropological Association (AAA).
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  AP images (Associated Press) Off-Campus Access
Provides 24/7 access to over 4.9 million primary source photos from 1825 to the present. Additionally, provides audio, video, graphics and interactives. Constantly updated, AP Images is an important resource for virtually every discipline. This database may be used for educational purposes only. Images may not be posted on the Web or otherwise made available electronically to anyone outside the Grinnell College community. These images may not be republished or distributed in newspapers, newsletters, magazines, brochures, catalogs, yearbooks, calendars, posters, or similar materials.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Applied Science & Technology Abstracts Off-Campus Access
Spanning 1983-present, this database covers topics in areas that include engineering, acoustics, chemistry, computers, metallurgy, physics, plastics, telecommunications, transportation, and waste management.
Unrestricted Resource  Art History Resources on the Web / Christopher L. C.E. Whitcombe
Professor, Art History, Sweet Briar College, Virginia. 1995- Organized collection of links to websites in many aspects of Art History.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  ARTbibliographies Modern Off-Campus Access
Online bibliographical database providing full abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, dissertations, and exhibition reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary arts dating from the late 19th century onwards.
Unrestricted Resource  ArtCyclopedia
An online encyclopedia of art. Also includes a directory of Art Museums Worldwide. Searchable. Includes images.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  ARTFL Off-Campus Access
American and French Research on the Treasury of the French Language.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  ArticleFirst Off-Campus Access
1990-current. An index of articles listed on the table of contents pages of journals. This database is multidisciplinary and includes over 15,000 publications
Unrestricted Resource  Artlibraries.net, virtual catalog for art history
An international specialized meta-catalogue allowing the retrieval of bibliographic records of distinctive art historical databases, giving access to more than 8 million records (as of June 2008), including records for articles in periodicals, conference papers, festschriften, exhibition catalogues and exhibition books, etc., and an increasing percentage of records for archival and photographic materials as well as for online resources.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Arts and Humanities Search Off-Campus Access
Indexes over 1,300 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals, as well as selected articles from social science and science journals. Contents include articles, bibliographies, editorials, letters, reviews, and more.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  ARTStor
Searchable database of images applicable to different times, cultures and disciplines. Also includes local Physics and Botany image collections. Use individual log-in for off-campus access.
Unrestricted Resource  arXiv
3-primary 1991-present; an e-print service which presents papers in physics and related disciplines, mathematics, nonlinear science, computer science, and quantitative biology.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  ATLA Religion Index Off-Campus Access
1949-current. Covers religious and theological scholarship in over 1,000 international journals and 14,000 multi-author works.