Jump to contentGrinnell College Libraries Grinnell Logo

Starting Research: Spanish

Basic resources for starting research in Spanish language and literature.

In this Guide:

Databases and Indexes

Library Catalogs

Reference Sources

Selected Websites

Style and Citation Guides

Resources at Grinnell

Related Research Guides

Need Help?

R. Cecilia Knight

Consulting Librarian for Spanish
mailto:knight@grinnell.edu
(641) 269-3368

 

How about a Library Lab?

Research Tips and Strategies

Databases and Indexes

MLA Bibliography (within Literature Resource Center): The Modern Language Association International Bibliography indexes scholarship on literature, language, linguistics and folklore.

Literature Resource Center: Provides biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses for authors of every age, nation, and literary discipline.

JSTOR: Backfiles of scholarly journals for language and literature not including the most recent two to five years.

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts: Subject coverage incluldes the nature, use, and teaching of language as well as linguistics, phonetics, communication and related topics.

Clase and Periodica: Index of Latin American journals in the sciences and humanities.

Additional Databases and Indexes

[Back to top]

Library Catalogs

Grinnell College Libraries: Burling Library, Kistle Science Library and beyond.

WorldCat: A huge catalog of books, web resources, and other materials held in libraries around the world. Most items in WorldCat are available through interlibrary loan.

Center for Research Libraries: Journals, foreign dissertations, newspapers, and microform collections available through interlibrary loan and electronic delivery.

Additional Library Catalogs

[Back to top]

Reference Sources

Latin American Writers: REF PQ 7081. A1 L37 1989

Feminist Encyclopedia of Spanish Literature: REF PQ6055 .F46 2002

Latino and Latina Writers: REF PS153. H56 L39 2004

Encyclopedia of Contemporary Spanish Culture: REF DP233.5 .E63 1999

Larousse gran diccionario: REF PC4640 .L393 2004

Reference Universe: Helps you locate an authoritative reference article to begin your research. Search the reference collection of Grinnell College Libraries or search more broadly.

Selected Web Sites

LANIC: Latin American Network Information Center: University of Texas at Austin

Spanish & Portuguese (Voice of the Shuttle): University of California, Santa Barbara

Ethnologue: Languages of the World: An encyclopedic reference work cataloging all of the world’s 6,912 known living languages.

Style and Citation Guides

MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers: Perm Reserve LB2369 .G53 2003

MLA Style Citations (Modern Language Association): University of California Berkeley Library

Assembling a List of Works Cited in Your Paper: Duke University Libraries

RefWorks A web-based service that allows you to import citations, create bibliographies, and more.

 

[Back to top]

Resources at Grinnell

Department of Spanish

Latin American Studies Concentration

Center for International Studies

Related Research Guides

Starting Research: History

Starting Research: English

Need Help?

Content last updated on 12/13/07

[Back to top]

Libstaff Log-In