Jump to contentGrinnell College Libraries Grinnell Logo

Starting Research: Religious Studies

Basic resources for starting research in Religious Studies.

In this Guide:

Databases and Indexes

Library Catalogs

Reference Sources

Selected Websites

Style and Citation Guides

Resources at Grinnell

Related Research Guides

Need Help?

Phil Jones

Consulting Librarian for Religious Studies
jonesphi@grinnell.edu
(641) 269-3355

 

How about a Library Lab?

Research Tips and Strategies

Databases and Indexes

ATLA Religion Index: The preeminent index of scholarship in religious studies..

Arts & Humanities Search: Indexes over 1,300 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals, as well as selected articles from social science and science journals .

Humanities International Complete: Covers journals as well as books and reference sources in the humanities.

JSTOR: Backfiles of scholarly journals for language and literature not including the most recent two to five years. Includes 37 religion journals.

Philosopher's Index: Indexes books and journals of philosophy: ethics, aesthetics, social and political philosophy, epistemology, and metaphysic logic, philosophy of law, religion, science, history, education, and language.

Additional Databases and Indexes

[Back to top]

Library Catalogs

Grinnell College Libraries: Burling Library, Kistle Science Library and beyond.

WorldCat: A huge catalog of books, web resources, and other materials held in libraries around the world. Most items in WorldCat are available through interlibrary loan.

Center for Research Libraries: Journals, foreign dissertations, newspapers, and microform collections available through interlibrary loan and electronic delivery.

Additional Library Catalogs

[Back to top]

Reference Sources

The Encyclopedia of Religion Reference BL31 .E46 2005

Religions of the Ancient World: A Guide Reference BL687 .R47 2004

Encyclopedia of Women and World Religion Reference BL458 .E53 1999

Encyclopaedia of Islam   Reference DS37 .E523  2007

Encyclopedia of Asian Philosophy Reference B121 .E53 2001

Harper's Dictionary of Hinduism Reference BL1105 .S78 1977

Additional Reference Sources

[Back to top]

Selected Web Sites

Wabash Center Internet Guide to Religion: A directory of religious resources on the Web, browseable by subject.

Association of Religion Data Archive: An archive of surveys, polls, and other data submitted by researchers.

Sacred Texts: The British Library’s digital collection of sacred texts from all religions, arranged chronologically, with a zoomable high-resolution image for each text.

Religious Movements Homepage: In-depth profiles of over 200 religious groups and movements, edited by scholars of religion.

Voice of the Shuttle: Religious Studies Page

Jewish History Resource Center

Buddhanet

Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy

Style and Citation Guides

MLA Style Citations: University of California-Berkeley Library

Assembling a List of Works Cited in Your Paper: Duke University Libraries

MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers Perm Reserve PN147 .G444 1998

RefWorks A web-based service for importing citations to a personal database, creating bibliographies, and more.

Chicago Manual of Style : Perm Reserve Z253 .U69 2003

 

[Back to top]

Resources at Grinnell

Religious Studies Department

Philosophy Department

East Asian Studies

Peace Studies Program

Writing Lab

Related Research Guides

Starting Research: Philosophy

Starting Research: Classics

Starting Research: History

Need Help?

Content last updated on 28 July 2008.

[Back to top]

Libstaff Log-In