Jump to contentGrinnell College Libraries Grinnell Logo

Starting Research: Physical Education

Basic resources for starting research in Physical Education.

In this Guide:

Databases and Indexes

Library Catalogs

Reference Sources

Style and Citation Guides

Resources at Grinnell

Related Research Guides

Need Help?

Gail J. Bonath

Consulting Librarian for Physical Education

bonath@grinnell.edu
(641) 269-3358

 

How about a Library Lab?

Research Tips and Strategies

Databases and Indexes

MEDLINE: (1953-present) Indexing and abstracts of journals in medicine and related fields, including wellness and sports medicine.

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition: (1975-present) Indexing of hundreds of peer-reviewed journals focusing on many medical disciplines, including information on wellness, athletics, sports medicine, coaching, and more.

Education Abstracts: (1983-present) Indexing and abstracts of journals and magazines covering the field of education from preschool through college, including some physical education and coaching titles.

ERIC: (1966-present) Indexes education-related literature, including some physical education titles. Covers journal articles, dissertations, government documents, conference proceedings, and much more.

Academic Search Premier: (dates vary by publication) An extensive multi-disciplinary database providing full text for thousands of publications, including thousands of peer-reviewed journals.

Additional Databases and Indexes

[Back to top]

Library Catalogs

Grinnell College Libraries: Burling Library, Kistle Science Library and beyond.

WorldCat: A huge catalog of books, web resources, and other materials held in libraries around the world. Most items in WorldCat are available through interlibrary loan.

Center for Research Libraries: Journals, foreign dissertations, newspapers, and microform collections available through interlibrary loan and electronic delivery.

Additional Library Catalogs

[Back to top]

Reference Sources

Encyclopedia of Sports Science : Burling Ref GV558 .E53 1997 (2 volumes)

Encyclopedia of Health & Behavior : Science Library Ref R726.5 .E53 2004 (2 volumes)

Berkshire Encyclopedia of World Sport : Burling Ref GV567 .B48 2005 (4 volumes)

Encyclopedia of World Sport: From Ancient Times to the Present
Burling Ref GV567 .E56 1996 (3 volumes)

Search the library catalog for additional reference sources by limiting Location to Reference or using the keywords encyclopedia* or dictionar*.

 

[Back to top]

Style and Citation Guides

Citing Sources Examples of how to cite sources within your paper and in a works cited list / bibliography for many different citation styles. From Duke University Libraries.

List of style guides and information on citing sources from Grinnell College Libraries

RefWorks A web-based service that allows you to import citations, create bibliographies, and more. Sign up for an individual account and get started right away, or ask a librarian to show you how RefWorks works.

 

[Back to top]

Resources at Grinnell

Department of Physical Education

Grinnell College Athletics

Related Research Guides

Starting Research: Biology

Starting Research: Education

Starting Research: Sociology

Need Help?

Content last updated on December 16, 2007.

[Back to top]

Libstaff Log-In