Starting Research: Philosophy
Basic resources for starting research in Philosophy.
Databases and Indexes
Philosopher's Index: 1940-present. Indexes journal articles, books, anthology contributions, and book reviews. Covers all major fields of philosophy including aesthetics, epistemology, ethics, logic, metaphysics, as well as philosophy of interdisciplinary fields such as education, history, law and religion. Content updated quarterly. Links to full-text content in other Grinnell College databases when available, including to JSTOR and Project Muse.
Arts and Humanities Search: 1980-present – Covers arts and humanities (including philosophy) and related social science and science information. Indexes articles, bibliographies, editorials, letters, and book reviews. Content updated weekly.
Humanities International Complete: Dates vary. Includes all data from Humanities International Index (2,000 titles and 2 million records) plus additional full text content from more than 670 journalsin the humanities – also links to full-text in other Grinnell College Libraries databases if available, including to Project Muse and JSTOR content.
JSTOR: Provides full-text, scanned images of hundreds of journal issues as they were originally published – content covers several disciplines in the Arts and Sciences. Note that “…because of JSTOR's archival mission, there is a gap, typically from 1 to 5 years, between the most recently published journal issue and the back issues available in JSTOR.” Links to JSTOR content can also be found by searching Humanities International Complete and Philosopher's Index.
Project Muse: Provides full-text access to 380 humanities and social sciences journals from over 60 scholarly publishers. Links to Project Muse content can also be found by searching Humanities International Complete and Philosopher's Index .
Annee Philologique : 1949-2005 (as of Dec. 2007); [1924-present available in print index] Time period covered is from pre-history to the middle of the eighth century AD. Index to classical studies dealing with all aspects of Greco-Roman antiquity, including history, literature, art, religion/philosophy, folklore, early Christian texts, papyrology, and science.
Continental rationalists : Descartes, Spinoza, Leibniz:Full text database of the writings of Rene Descartes, Benedict de Spinoza, and Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO): Digitized copies of 138,000 English-language titles and editions published between 1701 and 1800, primarily in the United Kingdom and the Americas. Includes books, broadsides, Bibles, tract books, sermons, and printed ephemera – Tip: when searching, try limiting or browsing by subject area – Religion and Philosophy.
Isis Current Bibliography: 1989- present. Created by the History of Science Society, this print bibliography covers the history of science and its cultural influences and can be helpful for topics in the philosophy of science.
Burling Library Location: 1st floor Z7405.H6 I25x
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts: Subjects covered include the nature, use, and teaching of language as well as linguistics, phonetics, speech, communication, sociolinguistics, philosophy of language, hearing and speech physiology, and related topics
PsycINFO: Covers psychology and related disciplines including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, sport, pharmacology, physiology, and linguistics – could be useful for philosophy of mind or philosophy of science.
For additional print indexes and databases, see Databases and Indexes page and limit by subject: philosophy.
Library Catalogs
Grinnell College Libraries: Find materials held by the Grinnell College Libraries. Try subject searching to find materials precisely on your topic or for ideas on how to narrow your topic – from the online catalog, choose the “subject” tab and enter “philosophy” –explode the term for a list of 200 narrower terms.
See below for the Library of Congress Subject Headings in philosophy. Try browsing Burling and Kistle book shelves in call number ranges in your area of interest. http://www.loc.gov/aba/cataloging/classification/lcco/lcco_b.pdf
OCLC’s WorldCat: Before 1000 B.C. to the present. A meta-search engine for online library catalogs, World Cat allows you to search for books, electronic resources, and many other materials held in up to 60,000 member libraries worldwide. Request materials not held at Grinnell by interlibrary loan.
Harvard Theatrum Catalogorum “…launched in 2007 by Ann Blair, Morgan Sonderegger, and Adam Beaver as a scholarly resource for the Early Modernist [philosophical] community. In its first edition, it collates library catalogs from every major European country. In future editions, it will expand to include the Americas.”
Reference Sources
Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy,10 volumes (1998): "Depth and breadth of coverage, clarity of presentation, impressive bibliographies, excellent use of cross references, and an extensive index ...” --Outstanding Reference Sources : the 1999 Selection Sources Committee, RUSA [Reference and User Service’s Association], ALA [American Library Association].
Burling Location: 1 st Floor, Reference Collection - B51 .R68
Encyclopedia of Philosophy, 2nd Edition (2005) Ed. Donald M. Borchert. An indispensable reference source per the 2008 review in Booklist – it includes particularly in-depth treatment of logic and related mathematical topics. The chapter on Nietzsche is by Grinnell College’s own professor of philosophy Alan Schrift.
Burling Location: 1 st Floor, Reference Collection B51 .E53 2006
Philosophical Dictionary, Mario Bunge. A lexicon of modern Western philosophical ideas and issues conveyed in brief, nontechnical entries.
Burling Location: 1 st Floor, Reference Collection B791 .B765 2003 B791 .B765 2003
Oxford Companion to Philosophy, Ed. Ted Honderich. “ Since 1995 the original volume has served as a stimulating, witty, and sometimes controversial introduction for general readers and as an indispensable guide for students; its breadth and depth of coverage have ensured that it is also read with pleasure and interest by those working at a higher level in philosophy and related disciplines.”—book jacket.
Burling Locations: 1 st Floor, Reference Collection B51 .O94 2005
Philosophy : a Guide Through the Subject, Ed. A.C. Grayling. “… intended to orientate, assist, and stimulate the reader at every stage in the study of the subject. Eleven extended essays have been specially commissioned from leading philosophers; each surveys a major area of the subject and offers an accessible but sophisticated account of the main debates."—Book jacket.
Burling Location: 1 st Floor BD21 .P468 1995
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy (Online): http://plato.stanford.edu/ Impressive for its depth, scope and authority; open access.
Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy http://www.iep.utm.edu “The Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy was founded in 1995 for the purpose of providing detailed, scholarly information on key topics and philosophers in all areas of philosophy. The IEP is free of charge and available to all internet users world wide. The present staff of 25 editors and approximately 200 authors hold doctorate degrees and are professors at colleges and universities around the world, most notably from the United States, Great Britain, and Australia. … The authors are specialists in the areas in which they write, and are frequently leading authorities. Submissions are peer reviewed by specialists according to strict criteria.”
Selected Book Series in Philosophy
Cambridge Companion series Outstanding single-volume references to individual philosophers, movements, etc. For Cambridge Companion titles in philosophy held by the Grinnell College libraries, see: http://tinyurl.com/2tmucs(note: this list is not comprehensive. For a full listing of Cambridge Companions outside of philosophy, try a title search using the term Cambridge Companion).
Oxford Readings in Philosophy Excellent, authoritative book series covering important individual topics, movements and figures in philosophy. For a list of titles held by the Grinnell College Libraries, see: http://tinyurl.com/2up257
Blackwell Companions to Philosophy An outstanding series that offers a broad, comprehensive and authoritative survey of philosophy. Written by today's leading philosophers, each volume provides coverage of the key figures, terms, topics, and problems of the field. http://tinyurl.com/2okwfa
Selected Web Sites
Grinnell College Department of Philosophy Recommended Web Resources - This is an excellent annotated collection of the most authoritative and useful philosophy resources on the Web. In addition to the best general philosophy web sites, the list includes links to professional organizations such as the American Philosophical Association, and a very useful collection of web resources organized by area/topics/movements in philosophy – including feminism, logic, existentialism, ethics, philosophy of mind, Chinese philosophy, metaphysics, and philosophy of science, among others.
PhilSci Archive:http://philsci-archive.pitt.edu – Recommended by former Grinnell College Assistant Professor of Philosophy Joe Niesser. Electronic archive for pre-prints in the Philosophy of Science. Sponsored by the Philosophy of Science Association, the Center for Philosophy of Science at University of Pittsburgh and the University Library System at the University of Pittsburgh.
Style and Citation Guides
Style Guides from the University of California-Berkeley Library including MLA, APA and Chicago/Turabian
MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers Perm Reserve PN147 .G444 1998
Assembling a List of Works Cited in Your Paper: Duke University Libraries
RefWorks A web-based service that allows you to import citations, create bibliographies, and more.
Resources at Grinnell
Department of Philosophy
Department of Religious Studies
Department of Classics
Grinnell CollegeCenter for the Humanities
Related Research Guides
Classics
Religious Studies
Need Help?
|