 |
Medicine -- Information Strategy/Sources
Information Strategy -- a basic guide for tracking down relevant, high-quality information needed for papers, lab reports, discussions, and other purposes
1. Define ... a topic by gathering background/overview information; help formulate your question
Sources:
The Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy (for easy-to-understand, authoritative information about human diseases and disorders)
The Merck Veterinary Manual (for easy-to-understand, authoritative information about animal/non-human diseases and disorders)
The Merck Manual of Geriatrics
MEDLINEplus (an incredible wealth of overview and more in-depth information organized by the United States National Library of Medicine)
Drug Information (MEDLINEplus -- United States National Library of Medicine; a guide to thousands of prescription and over-the-counter medications)
DailyMed (in-depth information about marketed drugs; NLM)
AccessScience (the online version of the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology and Yearbooks, current science news from Science News magazine, biographies of scientists, and more)
Additional relevant encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other publications that may provide this type of information and are available locally can be located by searching the Library Catalog.
2. Identify ... specific sources of information about the defined topic--to answer your question
Databases (1 general/non-technical -- indepth/more scholarly 4):
1. LexisNexis (especially useful for coverage of newspapers 1980's-present plus medical newsletters and some journals; use the Power Search)
To supplement the above database, try --
For materials published prior to the beginning of the above databases, try --
2. Academic Search Premier
To supplement the above database, try --
3. Entrez (The Life Sciences Search Engine; the ability to search many NCBI/NLM databases at the same time including PubMed)
To supplement the above databases, try --
4. Science Citation Index (description; contact Science Librarian for use of this database)
To supplement the above database, try --
Reference Sources:
3. Locate ... the publications identified above at Grinnell or elsewhere--get your information
4. Evaluate ... the validity, objectivity, and usefulness of the information
|
 |