Starting Research: History
Basic resources for starting research in history.
Databases and Indexes=
Historical Abstracts: The scholarly index for history excluding North America. Journal articles, books, and dissertations in all areas of history after 1450 are included.
America: History and Life: The scholarly index for the history of North America, including journal articles, books, and dissertations.
JSTOR: Backfiles of scholarly journals in history and other disciplines, not including the most recent two to five years.
Project Muse: Access to 100 scholarly electronic journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences and mathematics.
ITER: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance : Resources for the study and teaching of the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700) including citations in journals(1784-), books, reviews; a finding list of Renaissance humanistic manuscripts; etc. Some online full-text resources are available.
Humanities International Complete: Covers journals as well as books and reference sources in the humanities, including history.
Library Catalogs
Grinnell College Libraries: Burling Library, Kistle Science Library and beyond.
WorldCat: A huge catalog of books, web resources, and other materials held in libraries around the world. Most items in WorldCat
are available through interlibrary loan.
Center for Research Libraries: Journals, foreign dissertations, newspapers, and microform collections available through interlibrary loan and electronic
delivery.
Reference Sources
American Historical Association's Guide to Historical Literature : a useful bibliography of key resources in all areas of history. Reference D20 .A43x 1995.
Dictionary of Historians and Historical Writing : A two-volume dictionary with entries on prominent historians and themes in historical writing. Reference D14 .E53 1999
Timetables of History: a historical linkage of people and events: Reference D11. G78 2005
The Information-Literate Historian: a guide to research for history students. Reference D16.2 .P71 2007.
Selected Web Sites
Internet Modern History Sourcebook : Collection of primary sources of historic documents from the early modern period to the present for both Europe and the Americas. Includes links to other sources of information on modern history, on the nature of historiography, and links to maps, images, and music.
WWW Virtual Library:History: This is the central catalogue for the WWW-VL network of indexes to Historical materials on-line. It is intended for general public use, but its coverage and selection of sites concentrates on creating a facility useful for those pursuing historical research on-line. An extremely comprehensive index of links, it covers nearly every geographic area and many subjects
American Memory : Provides information on, and access to, the digitized version of the Library's primary-source collections on American history and culture, including photographs, documents, sound recordings, and motion pictures
Labyrinth: A guide to electronic resources in medieval history.
LANIC:Latin American Network Information Center. Provides links to information about and from Latin America.
Style and Citation Guides
Chicago Manual of Style : Perm Reserve Z253 .U69 2003
Assembling a List of Works Cited in Your Paper: Duke University
Libraries
RefWorks A web-based service that allows you to import citations, create bibliographies, and more.
Resources at Grinnell
Department of History
Related Research Guides
Need Help?
|