Jump to contentGrinnell College Libraries Grinnell Logo

German Studies Resources

Visit the German Department at Grinnell College
Electronic Databases and Print Indexes--Finding Articles and Books| Indexes and Databases| Additional Relevant Resources| Journals| Reference Resources--print and online| A Selection of Individual Books| Internet Resources

Electronic Databases and Print Indexes--Finding Articles and Books

 

The Grinnell College Libraries' online catalog and Web pages will lead you to materials within the libraries and beyond. Always feel free to contact a librarian by stopping by the library, emailing, or telephoning. You can make an appointment or take advantage of the reference desk hours. You'll find telephone numbers, emails, and reference desk hours here (Ask a Librarian) and here (Consulting Librarians).

 

The Libraries' Online Catalog leads you to books, journals, newspapers Web sites, recordings, music scores, electronic databases, and print indexes, reference materials, and more. You may link from the catalog to an online site or to the call number for and location for that item held in Burling, Science, Curriculum Library, or A/V Center (ARH or Listening Room in Burling). For more information see a librarian or consult some of our instruction guides.

 

To find all of the above--books, journals, newspapers, Web sites, recordings, music scores ...in most languages and from libraries throughout the United States and around the world search WorldCat. To obtain materials you find through WorldCat you'll want to use interlibrary loan.

 

Grinnell College Libraries subscribes to databases and print indexes for finding journal articles and other research materials that are more general in nature as well as to those that are specific to studying literature, history, and German literature in particular. Some databases will provide links to the actual articles and citations to materials that will either be in print in the libraries or that you'll need to get through interlibrary loan. Some databases may include primary source material.

A Tip for searching in languages other than English

Many databases provide abstracts in English and will also translate titles from the original language into English--this allows you to conduct your search in English even if you are looking for material in another language. However, you should also be able to search in the actual language of the material. If you are looking for a translation in our catalog, search for it using the title in the original language.

 

 

The MLA Bibliography uses English subject headings. If a literary work is the subject of the article, book chapter, or book that is being indexed, the title, in the original language, and the author of that work will always be included in the subject headings.

 

Indexes and Databases (online and in print)

Find many of the different online and print databases, indexes, and full-text collections at the libraries' database page. This list can be arranged by department/subject or alphabetically.

AHSearch-Arts and Humanities Citation Search. This database searches 1400 journals in the arts and humanities. There are brief abstracts and each entry lists all the citations from the indexed article. You can do a cited author search in this database. See a librarian for assistance

 

Disciplinary

Bibliographie der deutschen Sprach- und Literaturwissenschaft
A comprehensive annual bibliography of Western-language materials, primarily in German, on German language and literature.
1st Floor Z2231 .B5 1969-to the present.

The Eighteenth-Century Current Bibliography
This is an annual interdisciplinary bibliography. It covers all aspects of culture and civilization in the eighteenth century. One section is devoted to articles on "Germanic and Slavic Literatures and Languages."
1st Floor Z5579.6 .E36

Germanistik-A core biblographic source for citations to articles in journals and books on German language and literature. Each volume contains approximately 7,500 citations from approximately 500 different sources, including journals and collected works. Germanistik is useful for locating articles from German and continental European journals not covered by the MLA Bibliography.

Current Periodicals and 3rd floor. Alphabetical arrangement

Humanities Abstracts-This database indexes about 450 carefully selected journals in the humanties broadly speaking. It includes some foreign language journals. (online)

Iter: gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance-Iter provides resources for the study and teaching of the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700). It includes citations for journals(1784-), books, and reviews and a finding list of Renaissance humanistic manuscripts. (online)

Literature Resource Center-This is a collection of resources including the MLA Bibliography, Dictionary of Literary Biography, Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism, a literary time-line, and many other works (in full text) on authors and literatures. You can search all resources at once, or select which resource you want to search. Authors can be searched by selecting nation of origin, ethnicity, language, gender (and of course by name) (online)

MLA Bibliography-this is the premier source for finding the secondary literature on modern literatures, languages, and folklore. Ask a librarian for an introduction to this important index. (Included in Literature Resource Center) (online)

 

 

General

Academic Search Premier

Artstor (for images)Artstor works with pop-up windows. You'll need to be sure that your browser is set up to allow pop-up windows to use this database successfully.

Center for Research Libraries-Search the library CRL catalog and request material through interlibrary loan. You will find newspapers, disseratations, government documents, books on all subjects, microfilm collections--all available through interlibrary loan for extended periods of time.

Directory of Open Access Journals (you can search this by subject--you'll also find that the other indexes link to journals in this collection)

JSTOR--a select collection of full text journals from their first volume to within three to five years fo the present. Literature and history are included in this collection but you will find even many more citations to articles in even more literature and history journals by searching the MLA Bibliography and Historictal Abstracts.

Periodicals Index Online (PIO)--Indexes the complete run of hundreds of journals iin the social sciences, humanities, and for general readers published from 1665 through about 1995.

Project Muse--like JSTOR but focusing on the current issues of journals. Project Muse provides access tothe full text of a large number of university press journals primarily in the social sciences and humanities.

WorldCat-This is the library catalog of library catalogs. Most libraries in the United States and many major libraries around the world list their holdings in this catalog. You can use this for interlibrary loan purposes. You'll find books in most languages, recordings, visual material, music scores, archival material, newspapers, journals--almost anything except journal articles.

Google Scholar-Google Scholar looks through the indexes and abstracts that we subscribe to and more that we don't. You'll have access to freely available full text and full text that we have through our subscriptions. Follow the links "full text at my library."

 

Current Event

Academic Search Premier

Access World News

(newspapers from countries around the world and regional papers from around the U.S.)

Lexis-Nexis Academic
(strong for current events--some foreign language newspapers)

Yahoo! Deutschland
http://de.yahoo.com/

German Newspapers via Yahoo!
http://dir.yahoo.com/News_and_
Media/Newspapers/By_Region/Countries/Germany/

Zeitschriften-Service
http://www.stbib-koeln.de/zdkoeln/
Sie finden Hinweise auf über 45.000 Zeitschriftenartikel zu allen Themengebieten

 

Additional Relevant Resources that may be useful:

ATLA (Religious Periodicals Index)

Africa Bibliography -- Reference Z3503 .A34 1985 -

ArtBibliographies Modern

Bibliography of the History of Art

Eighteenth Century--First Floor Z5579.6 .E36 1975 to the present

Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index

International African Bibliography-- Reference Alcove, 1971 to the present

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts

Philosopher's Index

RILM Research in the Literature of Music

Online and print journals for German language and literature

Print issues and volumes located in Burling Library and online
Daphnis: Zeitschrift für Mittlere Deutsche Literatur und Kultur der Frühen Neuzeit library has Bd. 5, 1976- and online http://www.ingentaselect.com/rpsv/cw/rodopi/0300693x/contp1.htm

Deutsches Magazin

http://www.ub.uni-bielefeld.de/diglib/aufkl/deutschmaga/index.htm

Bd. 1.1791-20.1800

German life and letters
Library has n.s. v.19 1965-66 to the present in print

and online http://www.blackwell-synergy.com/loi/glal?cookieSet=1 from 1997.

German quarterly
Library has v. 39, 1966 to the present in print
http://www.jstor.org/journals/00168831.html through 2003 (adding forward each year)

German studies review
Library has v. 1, 1978 to the present in print
And online http://www.jstor.org/journals/01497952.html through 2003 (adding forward each year)

 

Göttingisches Historisches Magazin

http://www.ub.uni-bielefeld.de/diglib/aufkl/goettihistorimaga/index.htm

Bd. 1.1787-8.1791

The Journal of English and Germanic philology
Library has v. 19, 1920 to the present in print and online from 2003- http://jegp.press.uiuc.edu/
New German critique
Library has no.1-3 1973-74 in print and online at http://www.jstor.org/journals/0094033x.html through 2003 (adding forward eachyear) and from 2006- at http://ngc.dukejournals.org/
Seminar (Toronto) “A Journal of Germanic Studies”
Library has v. 5, 1969- in print and online http://muse.jhu.edu/journals/smr/ from 2006.

 

Availble in print only in Burling Library:

Akzente
Library has 1968-1999. 20th Century German Literature.

 

Deutschunterricht
Library has Jhg.53 2000 to the present
Deutsche Vierteljahrsschrift für Literaturwissenschaft und
Geistesgeschichte
Library has v. 38, 1964-

Dimension; contemporary German arts and letters and Dimension²: contemporary German-language literature
Library has v. 1, 1968 through to the present

 

Germanic review
Library has v.32-33 1957/58 to the present

Literatur und Kritik—Modern German literature history and criticism
Library has Jhg.4 1969 to the present

 

Monatshefte: a journal devoted to the study of German language and literature
Library has v. 58, 1966-67 to the present

Women in German yearbook
Library has from vol. 1. (1984) to the present Located in the stacks: PT151.W7 W7x

 

Zeitschrift für deutsche Philologie
library has Bd. 119, 2000 to the present


Reference Resources--print and online

Using the Library of Congress classification system (used by Grinnell College Libraries and most academic libraries in the United States) books and other cataloged resources on French literature fall within PQ (and books on and other cataloged material on French language fall within PC. French language literature from other countries will fall within that countries' classification: Middle East is PJ, African countries use PL, Canada falls primarily within PR and PQ.

Major Sets

Brockhaus Enzyklopädie: In Vierundzwanzig Bänden

A general encyclopedia from Germany.

Ref. AE 27 .G674x 1986

 

Das Wörterbuch-Netz

http://germazope.uni-trier.de/Projects/WBB/woerterbuecher

A site linking site linking eleven major German dictionary projects and offering a search across all the dictionaries.

 

Deutsches Wörterbuch von Jacob und Wilhelm Grimm

This is the classic etymological dictionary of the German language published between 1854 and 1971.

Ref. PF 3625 .G7 1854a

 

Encyclopedia of Austria Online

http://aeiou.iicm.tugraz.at/aeiou.encyclop;internal&action=_setlanguage.action?LANGUAGE=en

LEO Deutsch-Englisches Wörterbuch

http://dict.leo.org/

 

Other dictionaries are available at permanent reserve and reference:

A selection:

Collins German-English, English-German dictionary

Perm Reserve PF3640 .C68 1998

Oxford-Duden German dictionary : German-English, English-German

Perm Reserve PF3640 .O94 2005

A Practical Dictionary of German Usage

Ref PF3460 .B35 1996

 

The Camden House History of German Literature
Ten volumes, (each title cataloged separately )
Early Germanic Literature and Culture
1st floor PN831 .E28 2004
German Literature of the Early Middle Ages
1st Floor PT175 .G45 2004
German literature of the High Middle Ages
1st Floor PT191 .G47 2006
German Literature of the Eighteenth Century: the Enlightenment and Sensibility
1st Floor PT289 .G45 2005
Literature of the Sturm und Drang
1st Floor PT317 .L58 2003
The Literature of Weimar Classicism
1st Floor PT311 .L58 2005
The Literature of German Romanticism
1st Floor PT361 .L55 2004
German Literature of the Nineteenth Century, 1832-1899
1st Floor PT341 .G42 2005
German Literature of the Twentieth Century: From Aestheticism to Postmodernism
1st floor PT401 .S76 2001.

 

Contemporary Authors (online only)--see description of Literature Resource Center above. Search authors by time period, nation of origin, ethnicity, and name.

 

Contemporary Literary Criticism (print and online--selective)--use index to printed volumes to find particular authors and works. Reviews and criticisms of authors and works are excerpted in this set. Reviews, etc. begin with the date of publication of the original work and continue. Updates occur regularly. The online version is selective and available through Literature Resource Center. The print edition (232+ vol.) is in the reference collection: PN771 .C59

 

Dictionary of Literary Biography (print and online-selective)

Print volumes include the following:

Vol. 179 German Writers of the Renaissance and Reformation
Vol. 164/168 German Baroque Writers, 1580-1660 and 1661-1730
Vol. 148 German Writers and Works of the Early Middle Ages, 800-1170
Vol. 138 German Writers and Works of the High Middle Ages, 1170-1280
Vol. 133/129 Nineteenth-Century German Writers to 1840 and 1841-1900
Vol. 118/124 Twentieth-Century German Dramatists, 1889-1918 and 1919-1992
Vol. 90/94 German Writers in the age of Goethe. Sturm und Drang to Classicism
Vol. 97 German Writers from the Enlightenment to Sturm und Drang, 1720-1764
Vol. 81/85 Austrian Fiction Writers, 1875-1913 and after 1914
Vol. 66/56 German Fiction Writers, 1885-1913 and 1914-194

Vol. 69/75 Contemporary German Fiction Writers. first and second series

 

The online version is selective and available through Literature Resource Center.

Grove Art Online-a major online dictionary. Also available in print in the Reference Collection. Ref. N6847 .G758 2000

 

Grove Music Online-a major online dictionary. Also available in print in the Reference Collection. Ref ML100 .N48 2001

 

Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism (print and online-selective)-use index to printed volumes to find particular authors and works. Reviews and criticisms of authors and works are excerpted in this set. Reviews, etc. begin with the date of publication of the original work and continue. Updates occur regularly. The online version is selective and available through Literature Resource Center. The print edition (178+ volumes) is in the reference colleciton: PN761 .N56

 

Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism (print and online-selective)-use index to printed volumes to find particular authors and works. Reviews and criticisms of authors and works are excerpted in this set. Reviews, etc. begin with the date of publication of the original work and continue. Updates occur regularly. The online version is selective and available through Literature Resource Center. The print edition (185+ volumes) is in the reference collection: PN771 .G27

 

A Selection of Individual Books in Reference or in the Circulating Stacks:

 

The Cambridge Companion to Medieval Romance

1st floor PN671 .C36 2000

 

Cambridge History of German Literature
1st floor PT91 .C36 1997


A Companion to German literature : From 1500 to the Present, 1997.
1st Floor PT236 .S55 1997


Encyclopedia of German Literature. 2 volumes
Ref. PT91 .E53x 2000

 

The Feminist Encyclopedia of German Literature
1st floor PT41 .F46 1997

 

Oxford Companion to German Literature, 1997
Ref. PT 41 .G3 1997


Reallexicon der deutschen Literaturegeschichte, 1955-1988. 5 volumes
Ref. PT 41 .R21


Women Writers in German-speaking Countries : A Bio-bibliographical Critical Sourcebook
1st floor PT167 .W65x 1998

Internet Resources (a sampling)

 

DDR-Forschung (Internetressourcen)

http://thueraz.de/net/

 

filmlink.de

http://www.filmlink.de/

Online-Informationsressourcen der Film- und Fernsehwissenschaft


German Embassy in Washington, D.C. Web site for German Culture and Life including the arts and literature
http://www.germany.info/relaunch/culture/culture.html

 

Germanistik im Netz

http://www.germanistik-im-netz.de/

. . . dem Fachportal für deutsche Sprach- und Literaturwissenschaft!


Goethe Institute’s links to current German writing
http://www.goethe.de/ins/us/lp/prj/cwg/shc/fct/f06/enindex.htm

 

19th-Century German Stories
Web editions for language learning & literary study
http://www.fln.vcu.edu/menu.html

 

 

Penn Libraries German Studies portal

http://www.library.upenn.edu/cgi-bin/res/sr.cgi?community=32&

 

Sophie: A Digital Library of Works by German-Speaking Women

http://sophie.byu.edu/


The University of California, Berkeley’s extensive guide for research in German Language, Literature, History, and other disciplines. Some of the materials referenced are available only to U.C. students, but much of it is freely accessible via the Web.
http://www.lib.berkeley.edu/doemoff/german/

 

Verzeichnis Lieferbarer Bücher (German Books in Print)
http://www.buchhandel.de/

 

Weimarer Goethe-Bibliographie online

http://weias.ub.uni-weimar.de:8080/DB=4.1/LNG=DU/

 

Western European Studies Section of the Association of College and Research Libraries: German Studies Web/Literature Resources
http://www.dartmouth.edu/~wess/wesslit.html
and Wess German Studies Web/Major Digital Projects
http://www.dartmouth.edu/~wess/wessdig.html
and many other resources: http://www.dartmouth.edu/~wess/index.html

Visit the German Department at Grinnell College

 


Rebecca Stuhr. Grinnell College Libraries. May 2007

Libstaff Log-In