Jump to contentGrinnell College Libraries Grinnell Logo

Starting Research: French

 

 

In this Guide:

Databases and Indexes

Current Events
Library Catalogs

Reference Resources

Selected Web Sites

Style and Citation Guides

Resources at Grinnell

 

NEED HELP?

Rebecca Stuhr

Consulting Librarian for French

stuhrr @ grinnell. edu

x3674

 

Library Labs

Research Tips and Strategies

 

 

Visit the French Department at Grinnell College

 

Databases and Indexes

 

Tips for finding articles and books and media

Searching in languages other than English

Many databases provide abstracts in English and will also translate titles from the original language into English--this allows you to conduct your search in English even if you are looking for material in another language. However, you should also be able to search in the actual language of the material. If you are looking for a translation in our catalog, search for it using the title in the original language. The MLA Bibliography uses English subject headings. If a literary work is the subject of the article, book chapter, or book that is being indexed, the title, in the original language, and the author of that work will always be included in the subject headings.

MLA Bibliography-the premier source for finding the secondary literature on modern literatures, languages, and folklore. (Included in Literature Resource Center)

 

ARTFL-American and French Research on the Treasury of the French Language.

 

Bibliographie der französischen Literaturwissenschaft
A comprehensive bibliography of Western-language materials about French literature and the French language.
1st Floor Z2171 .K55

 

Historical Abstracts-Covers world history after 1450, except for the U.S. and Canada. Includes articles, books, collections, and dissertations from over 2,000 journals. For the U.S. and Canada search America: History and Life. These two databases can be searched together.

 

Humanities International Index-Covers journals as well as books and reference sources in the humanities

 

Project Muse and JSTOR provides access to the full text of a large number of journals in the social sciences, humanities. Literature and history are included in these collections but you will find even more citations to articles in even more literature and history journals by searching the MLA Bibliography and Historictal Abstracts.

 

 

Additional Databases and Indexes

 

[back to the top]

 

News and Current Events:

 

Le Monde

Le Monde Diplomatique--some articles freely available

Yahoo! France

Yahoo! News Directory--Links to online newspapers by country

Additional Databases and Indexes

[back to the top]

 

Library Catalogs

Grinnell College Libraries: books, media, Web sites, databases, art work, and more

 

WorldCat-This is the library catalog of library catalogs. s catalog.Use this to find material at libraries around the world including books in most languages, recordings, visual material, music scores, archival material, newspapers, journals--almost anything except journal articles.

 

Center for Research Libraries: A wide ranging collection of hard to find materials. More information.

 

More library catalogs

[back to the top]


Reference Resources

Library of Congress classification for French literature = PQ (and books on French language fall within PC0). French language literature from other countries will fall within each countries' classification: Middle East is PJ, African countries use PL, Canada falls primarily within PR and PQ.

Major Sets

Contemporary Authors (online only)--see description of Literature Resource Center below. Search authors by time period, nation of origin, ethnicity, and name.

 

Literature Resource Center-This ollection of resources includes the MLA Bibliography, Dictionary of Literary Biography, Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism, and more. Authors can be searched by selecting nation of origin, ethnicity, language, gender (and of course by name)

 

Dictionary of Literary Biography (print and online-selective)

Reference collection: PS 21 .D5x (volume no.) The last volume of the series includes a complete index.

Print volumes include the following:

v. 321 Twentieth-Century French Dramatists

v. 327 Sixteenth-Century French Writers

v. 313-314 Writers of the French Enlightenment

v. 258 Modern French Poets

v. 217 Nineteenth-century French Poets

v. 208 Literature of the French and Occitan Middle Ages : Eleventh to Fifteenth Centuries

v. 192 French Dramatists, 1789-1914

v. 119 Nineteenth century French Fiction Writers: Romanticism and
Realism, 1800-1860

vols. 60, 63, 72, 83, 88,92, 99 Canadian writers

The online version is selective and available through Literature Resource Center.

 

Grove Art Online-a major online dictionary. Also available in print inthe Reference Collection. Ref. N6847 .G758 2000

 

Grove Music Online-a major online dictionary. Also available in print in the Reference Collection. Ref ML100 .N48 2001

 

Contemporary Literary Criticism (print and online--selective)--The print edition (232+ vol.) is in the reference collection: PN771 .C59

Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism (print and online-selective)-The print edition (178+ volumes) is in the reference colleciton: PN761 .N56

Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism (print and online-selective)-The print edition (185+ volumes) is in the reference collection: PN771 .G27

The three literary criticism sets collect reviews and criticism of authors and works. The online versions are selectively available through Literature Resource Center.

 

Additional Books in Burling

 

[back to the top]

Web Sites

Bibliotheque nationale de France

Including "Ask a reference question":

Gallica : access to 90,000+ digitized texts

Library and Archives Canada/Bibliothéque et Archives Canada: Collections Canada

Embassy of France in the United States

 

Ambassade du Canada, Washington, D.C.

Musee canadien des civilisations

 

Radio France Internationale (RFI)

 

BBC News-Including news from Africa and the Middle East

 

LIMAG: Littératures du Maghreb
(Algérie, Maroc, Tunisie)


French Language News and News Magazines

linked from the MIT Libraries

 

Africa South of the Sahara from the Stanford Libraries--including links to newspapers

LeLibraire.com --a commercial site with information about French books and authors from countries around the world.

 

[back to the top]

Style and Citation Guides

Style Guides from the University of California-Berkeley Library including MLA and Chicago/Turabian.
Assembling a List of Works Cited in Your Paper: Duke University Libraries
MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers Perm Reserve PN147 .G444 1998
RefWorks A web-based service that allows you to import citations, create bibliographies, and more.

 

[back to the top]

Resources at Grinnell

Grinnell Writing Lab
French Department

 

[back to the top]


Need Help?

Rebecca Stuhr. x3674

Consulting Librarian for French.

Grinnell College Libraries. June 2007

 

Library Labs

Research Tips and Strategies

Libstaff Log-In