Starting Research: English
Basic resources for starting research in English language and literature.
Databases and Indexes
MLA Bibliography (within Literature Resource Center): Indexes scholarship on literature, language, linguistics and folklore.
Literature Resource Center: Provides biographies, bibliographies, and critical
analyses for authors of every age, nation, and literary discipline.
Humanities International Complete: Covers journals as well as books and reference sources in the humanities.
JSTOR: Backfiles of scholarly journals for language and literature not including the most recent two to five years.
Project Muse: Access to 100 scholarly electronic journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences and mathematics.
Library Catalogs
Grinnell College Libraries: Burling Library, Kistle Science Library and beyond.
WorldCat: A huge catalog of books, web resources, and other materials held in libraries around the world. Most items in WorldCat
are available through interlibrary loan.
Center for Research Libraries: Journals, foreign dissertations, newspapers, and microform collections available through interlibrary loan and electronic
delivery.
Reference Sources
Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism
Cambridge History of English and American Literature
Oxford English Dictionary
American Writers Reference PS129 .A55
British Writers Reference PR85 .B68
Selected Web Sites
Voice of the Shuttle: Web Site for Humanities Research
Internet Public Library Literary Criticism Collection
American and English Literature Internet Resources
Literary Resources on the Net
Style and Citation Guides
MLA Style Citations: University of California-Berkeley Library
Assembling a List of Works Cited in Your Paper: Duke University
Libraries
MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers Perm Reserve PN147 .G444 1998
RefWorks A web-based service for importing citations to a personal database, creating bibliographies, and more.
Resources at Grinnell
Grinnell Writing Lab
Creative Writing Scene at Grinnell
Department of English
Related Research Guides
Starting Research: History
Starting Research: Philosophy
Starting Research: Religious Studies
Need Help?
|