Starting Research: Education
Basic resources for starting research in Education.
Databases and Indexes
Education Abstracts : An index of articles from leading publications in the field of education. Coverage includes every age and sector of the educational community from preschool through college.
Academic Search Premier: An extensive multi-disciplinary database providing full text for thousands of publications, including a number of important journals in the field of education and educational policy
ERIC: ndexes education-related literature, including library science literature. Covers journal articles, dissertations, government documents, conference proceedings, and much more.
PsycINFO: Covers psychology and related disciplines including sociology, education, and sport. Worldwide coverage includes references to over 1300 journals, dissertations, and book chapters.
Library Catalogs
Grinnell College Libraries: Burling Library, Kistle Science Library and beyond.
WorldCat: A huge catalog of books, web resources, and other materials held in libraries around the world. Most items in WorldCat
are available through interlibrary loan.
Center for Research Libraries: Journals, foreign dissertations, newspapers, and microform collections available through interlibrary loan and electronic
delivery.
Reference Sources
Encyclopedia of Education : An eight-volume encyclopedia covering key topics in education, including court cases. Reference LB15 .E47 2003
Encyclopedia of Educational Research : A four -volume encyclopedia surveying research on a wide range of educational topics. First Floor, Oversize LB15 .E448 1992
Philosophy of Education: an encyclopedia : examines how philosophic ideas have influenced education, from ancient Greece to the present./ Reference LB17 .P485 1996
Education: a guide to reference and information sources : although somewhat dated, this is still a useful bibliography of sources in all areas of education. Reference LB15 .O28x 1999.
World Education Encyclopedia : A three-volume set that describes educational systems around the world. Reference LB15 .W87 2001
Almanac of American Education: A yearly look at national, state, and county trends in education. Reference LA217.2 .A45 2007
Selected Web Sites
U. S. Dept. of Education:Topics from A-Z : Presents information on education-related topics, provided by the U.S. Department of Education. Contains information on topics such as student achievement, bilingual education, disabled children, delinquent children, class size reduction, drug-free schools, magnet schools, family literacy programs, financial aid, home schooling, postsecondary education, preschools, private schools, public schools, special education, tutoring, and vocational education
International Comparisons in Education : Statistics and other data related to education in the U.S and abroad.
National Center for Education Statistics : NCES is the primary federal entity collecting and analyzing education-related data for the United States and other nations. The NCES catalog can be searched to locate NCES publications and data products, many fulltext or available for download, including The condition of education, The digest of education statistics, TIMSS (Third international mathematics and science study) and the NAEP (Nation's report card)
Iowa Education : The state of Iowa's website for education, including links to agencies, services, facts, and news.
ENC Online : Eisenhower National Clearinghouse for Mathematics and Science Education. Curriculum materials, news, and other resources for teachers of math and science
Style and Citation Guides
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association : Perm. Reserve (Burling & Kistle) BF76.7 .P83 2001.
Assembling a List of Works Cited in Your Paper: Duke University
Libraries
RefWorks A web-based service that allows you to import citations, create bibliographies, and more.
Resources at Grinnell
Department of Education
Related Research Guides
Starting Research: Psychology
Need Help?
|