 |
Agriculture -- Information Strategy/Sources
Information Strategy -- a basic guide for tracking down relevant, high-quality information needed for papers, lab reports, discussions, and other purposes
1. Define ... a topic by gathering background/overview information; help formulate your question
Sources:
AccessScience (the online version of the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology and Yearbooks, current science news from Science News magazine, biographies of scientists, and more)
Encyclopedia Britannica Online
Additional relevant encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other publications that may provide this type of information and are held locally can be located by searching the Library Catalog and then limiting by Location: Reference.
2. Identify ... specific sources of information about the defined topic--to answer your question
Databases (1 general/non-technical -- indepth/more scholarly 5):
1. Academic Search Premier (broad scholarly/popular coverage of the Sciences, Social Sciences, and Humanities)
To supplement the above database, try --
LexisNexis (useful for coverage of newspapers and some popular magazines 1980's-present; use the Guided News Search)
For materials published prior to the beginning of the above databases, try --
2. Grinnell College Libraries Catalog (for everything except articles)
Academic Search Premier (broad scholarly/popular coverage of the Sciences, Social Sciences, and Humanities)
PAIS International (description)
To supplement the above databases, try --
For materials published prior to the beginning of the above databases, try --
3. AGRICOLA (description)
To supplement the above database, try --
4. CAB Abstracts (description; contact Science Librarian for use of this database)
To supplement the above database, try --
5. Science Citation Index (description; contact Science Librarian for use of this database)
For materials published prior to the beginning of the above databases, try --
Reference Sources:
3. Locate ... the publications identified above at Grinnell or elsewhere--get your information
4. Evaluate ... the validity, objectivity, and usefulness of the information
|
 |